Online Plants

Magnolia Grandiflora Exmouth Bull Bay Magnolia

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
pot size: 20cm
Sizing guide
Magnolia Grandiflora Exmouth Bull Bay Magnolia is a more upright habit in form than many other Magnolia, this is a very old selection raised in Exmouth UK by Sir John Colliton in the early 18th century. Has been popular in gardens and nurseries for more than two hundred years. This form features a particularly upright habit and particularly vigorous growth. Proven to be very useful in many street and other landscape situations. Features long narrow leaves tending to curve along the edges. Should flower over a long period through summer to late autumn.

Magnolia grandiflora 'Exmouth', also known as Bull Bay Magnolia, is a cultivar of the Magnolia grandiflora species, which is a large, evergreen tree that belongs to the Magnoliaceae family. This cultivar is named after the town of Exmouth in Devon, England, where it was first propagated in the early 1900s.

'Exmouth' is a slow-growing tree that can reach a height of 10-15 meters and a spread of 5-8 meters. It has a pyramidal shape and produces large, glossy, dark-green leaves that are leathery and slightly fragrant. The leaves can measure up to 25cm long and 12cm wide. The tree produces large, fragrant, creamy-white flowers that can measure up to 25cm in diameter. These flowers appear in late spring and early summer and have a sweet, lemony fragrance.

Bull Bay Magnolia prefers full sun to part shade and well-drained soil. It is tolerant of a range of soil types and is relatively low-maintenance once established. It can be pruned to shape, but this is not usually necessary. The tree is often used as a specimen tree in larger gardens or as an ornamental tree in parks and public spaces. It can also be grown in containers or trained as an espalier.

Magnolia Exmouth is available from Online Plants, Australia's leading e-commerce plant nursery. Located in Melbourne we offer fast, accurate and careful plant delivery to all Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Canberra and Brisbane, metropolitan and regional areas.